The Currituck County Volunteer Recognition and 4-H Achievement Ceremony was recently held

The Currituck County Volunteer Recognition and 4-H Achievement Ceremony was recently held

Currituck County 4-H is hosting its Annual 4-H Achievement Night and Leader Recognition Celebration at Currituck County Extension on March 2, 2023. Achievement Night recognizes 4-H members for their outstanding accomplishments and volunteerism through 4-H. Volunteers are also recognized as a reward for their hard work and commitment to the Currituck County 4-H program.

Throughout the year, 87 Currituck County 4-H’ers participate in many County, District, State and National level events and competitions. The ceremony celebrated the dedication and commitment of these youths and highlighted the awards (239) they had earned and achievements achieved during this year of the program. Currituck 4-H’ers were recognized for their achievements in Project Records, Public Speaking, Leadership, Shooting Sports, Volunteering, Citizenship, Equine Science (Horse Show, Horse Bowling and Horse Judging), Electricity, STEM, Poultry, Animal Husbandry, and Expressive Art.

District Champion Project Records:

Project Notes are achievement notes compiled by 4-H’ers to record concepts learned in a particular course material. They are tried at the county and then the county champion records are submitted for judging at the State level. The Currituck Project Record Winners for 2022 are:

Cloverbud Superstar: (Ages 5-8 years with 5 or more submitted project records)

Hayden Basen, Benjamin Larsen, Colin Plum And Peach Wright

8-10 years
Annie Larsen- Plant Science:
Karleigh Meads-Zoology
Jacob Plums-Healthy lifestyles

11-12 years
Emma Hoit- Citizenship & Citizenship Education
Amanda Jennings-Science & Technology
Caleb Minton– Environmental Science & Healthy Lifestyle
Poppy Wrightt-Animal Science

13-15 years
Elijah Campbell-Communication & Expressive Arts & Science & Technology

16-18 years
Megan Armstrong- Animal Science and Citizenship & Citizenship Education

Currituck County 4-H Achievement Award-Emerald

“4-H Jacket” for youth ages 16-18 to recognize and celebrate their accomplishments during their 4-H career. Youth must have a completed portfolio of participation in County, District, and State 4-H events and complete a points-based application to earn their jacket. This year’s recipient is Samy Shawgo.

NC National Team Competition 4-H

Several NC 4-H program categories offer National level competitions to senior 4-H’ers (14-18 years) who place first in their state’s competition. Currituck County has two 4-Her games nationally in 2022:

Kilynn Brinkley: competed in the 4-H National Championships-Shooting Sports in Grand Island, NE as a member of the NC 4-H Air Rifle Team and Cayden Lowe competed in the Southern Regional 4-H Championships (GA), Eastern 4-H Round-up (KY), and the American Quaterhorse Congress (OH) as a member of the NC 4-H Communications Team (Horse).

Outstanding Member of the Year- selected for the overall level of excellence in their 4-H 2022 work program. This year’s 4-Hers of the year are: 8-10 Karleigh Meads; 11-12 Poppy Wright; 13-15 Elijah Campbell and 16-18 Cayden Lowe.

NC 4-H Honor Club

Membership in the North Carolina 4-H Honor Club is awarded to 4-H’ers who have demonstrated outstanding 4-H citizenship and leadership throughout their 4-H career. Youth must have completed three or more years of 4-H club work and must be at least 16 years of age. The total number of inducted applicants to the NC 4-H Honors Club will be limited to 0.5% of current North Carolina 4-H member enrollments. Currituck County 4-H member Ashton Lowe is sworn in in 2022.

Volunteer Confession

Volunteering is critical to the overall success of the Currituck County 4-H program and many of these youth achievements are directly impacted by volunteer service to the program. Recognized for their service and leadership for the 4-H program are: Kathy Melton, Jason Fredrick, Eric Brinkley, Malcolm Murray, Lee Morris, Michael Phelps, Thomas Castellow, Mike Richards, Heather Campbell, Loretta Shawgo, Hannah Meads, Nora Tarpley, Kristi Basen, Amy Larsen, Victoria Plum, Jody Lockhart, and Lisa Starch.

Heather Campbell was named the 2022 Club Volunteer of the Year for her outstanding leadership and dedication as a Leader of three 4-H Clubs and her commitment to, and support for, many other Extension programs.

Congratulations to all of our award winners. It was a night of great celebration and recognition for 4-H made the best even better.

Youth interested in joining 4-H or adults interested in volunteering to share any knowledge or skills with youth should contact 4-H Agent, Sherry Fischlschweiger at Currituck Extension Center; 252-232-2261, or [email protected]

4-H is North Carolina’s largest youth development organization, equipping more than 263,000 youth each year with the skills to succeed and improve the world around them. 4-H programs and camps encourage young people to “learn by doing”, helping them develop into active and contributing citizens. The NC State Extension and Cooperative Extension Program at NC A&T State University coordinates the 4-H program statewide.

Source link

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *